The National Tank Truck Carriers (NTTC) announced the two winners of its outstanding safety performance awards: Groendyke Transport of Enid, Oklahoma, and GLS Transport of Bedford Park, Illinois. These two carriers will receive their respective awards during the NTTC’s upcoming Annual Conference & Exhibits program to be held at the Fairmont Chicago from April 30 – May 2.


Heil Trailer International is the proud sponsor of the NTTC’s Outstanding Safety Performance Awards, which recognizes the best industry safety programs in two different mileage divisions.


“The tank truck industry prides itself on its steadfast commitment to safety,” said NTTC President Daniel R. Furth. “To win this award, a carrier must absolutely embrace a safety culture from the drivers’ room to the board room, and that’s exactly the case for Groendyke and GLS Transport. With Heil’s support, we are very pleased to recognize these two carriers as best in class, which underscores the NTTC’s mission to champion safety and success in our unique segment of trucking.”


“Heil Trailer is very proud to recognize these two winning motor carriers. Congratulations to both Groendyke Transport and GLS Transport for bringing home the NTTC Outstanding Safety Performance Awards,” said EnTrans International’s CEO, Doug Chapple. “The two Heil trophies embody a commitment to safety and what it means within our essential industry.” 


The Mileage Divisions are named after the association’s first two and longest-serving presidents: Austin Sutherland (1945 – 1972) and his successor, Cliff Harvison (1972 – 2005). The mileage-based dividing line of the fleet size categories is 15 million miles.


Groendyke Transport won the 40 – 90 million mileage category within the contest’s Harvison Division with an accident frequency of 0.373 accidents per million miles. In the Sutherland Division, GLS Transport is the grand winner in the 3.5 – 5 million miles class. GLS Transport’s accident frequency of zero accidents per million miles was the winning mark in that category.


By winning their respective mileage classes, both motor carriers qualified as finalists for the Outstanding Safety Performance Awards. Groendyke Transport’s Mike Elmenhorst and Terry Kolacki of GLS Transport will also be recognized as NTTC’s Safety Professionals of the Year at the Safety Awards banquet during the Annual meeting of NTTC’s Tank Truck Safety & Security Council on June 22 in Nashville, Tennessee.


NTTC is a trade association composed of over 550 companies that specialize in bulk transportation services by cargo tank throughout North America.