The American Transportation Research Institute (ATRI) released the names of those individuals appointed by the ATRI Board of Directors to serve on the 2017 – 2018 Research Advisory Committee (RAC). Among other activities, ATRI’s RAC is responsible for annually identifying the top research priorities for the trucking industry. RAC members represent a diverse cross section of trucking industry stakeholders, including motor carriers, industry suppliers, commercial drivers, shippers, law enforcement, academia and government.


Mr. Scott Mugno, Vice President, Safety, Sustainability & Vehicle Maintenance of FedEx Ground, was appointed to serve as Chairman of the RAC. New RAC members appointed for the 2017-2018 term are:

Mr. Jon Blackham
Policy and Government Affairs
Canadian Trucking Alliance


Mr. Bill Brown
Manager of Fleet Telematics
Southeastern Freight Lines


Mr. Scott George
Chief Executive Officer
TCW, Inc.


Dr. Mike Golias
Director for Research
Intermodal Freight Transportation Institute
University of Memphis


Mr. Stan Hampton
Vice President of Driver Personnel
J.B. Hunt


Mr. Victor Hart
Transportation Safety Manager
Dot Transportation, Inc.


Mr. Ken Howden
Director, 21st Century Truck Partnership
Vehicle Technologies Office
U.S. Department of Energy


Ms. Kelly Killingsworth
Vice President, Inbound Transportation


Ms. Victoria King
Group Vice President, Public Affairs


Mr. Dustin Koehl
Vice President, Sales and Marketing
Total Transportation of Mississippi


Ms. Caroline Mays
Director, Freight and International Trade Section
Texas Department of Transportation


Ms. Lisa Mullings
President and CEO
National Association of Truck Stop Operators


Mr. Tom Murtha
Senior Planner
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning


Deputy Chief Mark Savage

Colorado State Patrol


Mr. Carl Stebbins
Corporate Director of Admissions and Marketing
New England Tractor Trailer Training School


Mr. Harold Sumerford, Jr.
J&M Tank Lines, Inc.


Mr. Jim Ward
President and CEO
D.M. Bowman


Current RAC members who were reappointed to an additional two-year term on the RAC are:

Ms. Amy Boerger
Vice President—North American Engine Business
Cummins, Inc.


Mr. Randy Boyles
Senior Vice President, Mobile Strategy


Mr. Michael Conyngham
Director of Research
International Brotherhood of Teamsters


Mr. Bob Costello
Senior VP and Chief Economist
American Trucking Associations


Mr. Tom Cuthbertson
Vice President, Regulatory Compliance
Omnitracs, LLC


Mr. Dennis Dellinger
Cargo Transporters


Mr. Chip Duden
Vice President, Strategic Business Analytics
Werner Enterprises


Mr. Paul J. Enos
Chief Executive Officer
Nevada Trucking Association


Mr. Sanford Hodes
Senior Vice President and Deputy General Counsel
Ryder System, Inc.


Mr. Chris McLoughlin
Cargo Risk Manager
C.H. Robinson Worldwide, Inc.


Ms. Brenda Neville
Iowa Motor Truck Association


Mr. Dean Newell
Vice President, Safety
Maverick, Inc.


Ms. Karen Rasmussen
President and CEO
HELP, Inc.


Mr. Wellington F. Roemer, III
President and CEO
Wellington F. Roemer Insurance


Ms. Andrea Sequin
Director, Regulatory Services
Schneider National, Inc.


Mr. Tom Weakley
Director of Operations
Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association Foundation


“The RAC serves a critical role in developing and prioritizing research proposals that address the trucking industry’s top issues. We congratulate those appointed by the Board to serve in this important role and we look forward to working with them,” remarked Rebecca Brewster, ATRI President and COO.


ATRI is the trucking industry’s 501(c)(3) not-for-profit research organization. It is engaged in critical research relating to freight transportation’s essential role in maintaining a safe, secure and efficient transportation system.